New Ross RFC firsts and seconds travelled to Edenderry on Sunday for a potentailly very awkward LL Div 2A clash. At half time the Seconds were 3 0 down but had been playing very well. Edenderry doubled the lead shortly after the break but Sam Prendergast then opened the Ross scoring with a try. Over to Edenderry again with a try for them before Breen Howlin added a second for Ross to leave the final score 13 10 to the home side. Foley Phillips claimed the Man of the Match gong. The full seconds squad on duty were John Caulfield, Jordan O Brien, Bob Dempsey, Sam Prendergast, Kieran Treacy, Breen Howlin, Bartek Balserski, Foley Phillips, Brendan Holohan, Matt Crowdle, Gary Murphy, Dean Prendergast, David Manning, Nathan Prendergast, Paudie Barden, Steve Roche, Chris Dimond, Vincent Murphy and Seamus Holohan.

The Firsts fell victim to an early Edenderry dropgoal before Wally Walsh pounced on a loose ball and cantered over for the opening try after 15 minutes. Barry Walsh was accurate from the tee and added the additional points. Honours even for some time before Ross were reduced to 14 when Barry Walsh earned a yellow card and Edenderry took advantage with a try of their own to leave the halftime score 8 7 to the home side.

Edenderry scored again early after the resumption crashing over from a 5 metre lineout but could not make the conversion attempt count. Not long after, Gavin Mernagh caught Edenderry napping when he took full advantage of his own quick tap penalty. Walsh was successfull with the conversion from a difficult angle.

Walsh again proved accurate with a penalty after Edenderry conceeded advantage to a superior Ross scrum. As the match moved into its closing stages, the visitors pack gained total superiority over Edenderry and forced another penalty concession late on which was again converted to leave the final score 13 20 and New Ross now sitting in 3rd place overall on the League table with 14 points after 4 outings. The squad was James Bryan, Shane Roche, Kevin Browne, Kyle Roche, Bryan Harte, Joe Coughlan, Tim Coughlan, James Ryan, Gavin Mernagh, Kevin Burke, Eanna Burke, Walter Walsh, David Crowdle, Sean Crowdle, Barry Walsh, Breen Howlin, Gary Murphy, Nathan Prendergast, Rory Browne, Bob Dempsey. Again this week there was significant competition for Man of the Match with the entire pack in contention but this week’s top of the class award goes to Gavin Mernagh.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top